Consecutive integer powers

The only consecutive integer powers are 8 and 9.

This was conjectured by Eugène Catalan in 1844 and proved by Preda Mihăilescu in 2002.

via Richard Elwes

One thought on “Consecutive integer powers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>